Need help Masters:) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st March 2009, 04:31 AM   #1
msj965 is offline msj965  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Need help Masters:)

Hello,
I'm a newbie here and I want to know what is good hi fi speaker to buy. I'm comparing between the bookshelf or the tower spr.But on the tower I think is much more expensive,isn't it!My bugget left is 300+bucks. coz I bought a trend ta10.1 and modded a playstation 1+ yard master patio cord . So if you can assist me Masters and give some opinions what to buy.

Thanking you in advance,
Ann

Old 21st March 2009, 05:51 AM   #2
fwater is offline fwater  United States
diyAudio Member

Holy freakin' cow, a woman on the forum! Welcome, bring some freinds

I'm not an expert, but I will cast my vote on high efficiency loudspeakers. There may be some how will say that low power isn't low 'til you've met their 1 watt SETs, but 15 watts of available oomph might not be enough for some people. There are quite a few discussions and designs on this and the fullrange forum featuring high efficiency drivers. I'm finding beauty in the simplicity of my unknown vintage 10" wibebands with a paper tweet and an oil-type cap. No specs, no measurements, but unquestionably high sensitivity, they work great with my tiny T-amp. Look into a horn tweeter and a pro-type woofer. I'm sure it can be done for under $300. Maybe someone with more experience will have some specific examples...

...edit this, I assumed building your own speakers was in the cards. Re-reading your post, it doesn't state that. DIY is the preferred method 'round here. I don't pay any attention to prefab speakers, except maybe the ones in my vintage console record-player.
Old 21st March 2009, 06:26 AM   #3