Help : Best way to flush mount speaker drivers and other router tips wanted??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am in the process of building my first DIY project - proac 2.5 clones. I have zero experience in woodworking :confused: . I already have the drivers from audiocomponents.nl and the XO is on the way from madisound. Now I'm having some issues in the cabinet construction.

I have a dewalt dw 621 router and the jasper circle jig. But how to flush mount the speakers?? :bawling: Do I first cut the hole and then use the router to go round and rabbet? Or should I first cut a circle with depth = thickness of the flange and then cutout the driver hole? I want to get this done without having to buy too many router bits. I would also like to have curved sides. So are there any tips on how to do this? I know I need a router bit for that, but my concern is how do i make sure that I go straight while using the router?

Can any of the speaker builders share their experience in this area? I see many pages devoted to the construction of proac 2.5 but none of them shed any light on the flush mounting part.

Thanks a million,

Cacophonix

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2002
Hi Cacaphonix

You need to cut the rebate first using the circle jig, then the opening. It is easier to do this before the box is built, when you can work on the flat!

To round over the corners of the box, you need a bearing guided roundover bit. This is self guiding, and will follow the shape of the box. These are very common, and availabe in a range of sizes, just look in your local toolshop.

Hope it all goes well;)