diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Multi-Way (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/)
-   -   TL projekt idea (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/139138-tl-projekt-idea.html)

Vigo 23rd February 2009 11:56 AM

TL projekt idea

I have 4 Peerless 6,5" speakers.http://www.tymphany.com/830875

I am thinking about using them to bild a couple of new
speakers to have at home.

I am intressted of trying to build som TL lines of them with 2 speakers in each.

Will it work with these speakers in a TL line??
I have never built a TL speaker before sow my knowlage about them is limited.

I am thankful for any advice?

johngalt47 23rd February 2009 05:25 PM

Well, the simulation using Martin King's older ML TQWT worksheet indicates that it is possible.

How tall did you want the boxes to be?

Vigo 23rd February 2009 05:54 PM

Ok sounds good,

I dont mind how high they are aslong as they are not more then 2m high.

Can you give me any more detials what the simulations says?, i whould appreciate that sow i have something to start with.

johngalt47 23rd February 2009 10:41 PM

As a starting point you can try 115 cm. The area can be 2.5 Sd and the port 7.5 cm x 20 cm. The centerline between the drivers (the centerline of the tweeter) can be 25% down from top.

But that is just a starting point, not necessarily the final dimensions.

pkitt 23rd February 2009 11:39 PM

Re: TL projekt idea

In addition to you wanting to limit the height to 2 meters, do you have any other wants or restrictions? For instance, what F3 were you hoping for and how wide and deep can the box be? I've already done some modeling as an ML-TL using Martin King's worksheets and the results were very promising. I could also explore a tapered TL and, perhaps, an ML-TQWT.

Quote:

Originally posted by Vigo
I have 4 Peerless 6,5" speakers.http://www.tymphany.com/830875[/URL]

I am thinking about using them to bild a couple of new
speakers to have at home.