Pls. help - Realistic Minimus 7 Crossover Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

I'm new to DIYAudio....but since I've seen a lot posted here about the Minimus 7's I thought this would be the best place to come for help.

Basically, I picked up a pair of the silver/aluminium one's a few weeks back at a local thrift store and I was so extremely over-zealous in modding it (right away) that I took it all apart without either first listening to them, or taking out digital pictures of the "before" image (like I always do, before any of my mod's).

So anyways, I've replaced the cheap spring clip connectors with better binding posts, and now when I'm trying to replace the 4.7uF capacitors with similar value ones that I purchased locally, I do not remember how/where to connect the two leads of the capacitor. To make matters worse, the new capacitor that I've purchased seems to indicate that it's bi-polar, yet there is one lead that is shorter than the other...so that's confusing me big-time as well (not sure whether one lead is positive and the other negative....or whether it does not matter, since the package says that it's bi-polar)

I searched this forum (and googled the entire WWW) but couldn't find very good pictures of the orginal crossover for these speakers, but the following URL does provide a schematic...but I'm not sure how to interpret it...and maybe it's a bit incorrect - I've attached what I think may be the correct version of the schematic) :

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread/t-107075.html