Book recommendation for a newb

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So, I've got basic electronics knowledge due to a tech elective from college (circuit rules, components, etc.)

But I need a ground-up education on how to design speakers (crossover, component selection, cabinet design, etc.)

I've read lots of stuff on the internet (and a lot from this board) but would like a book that goes from square one on up. Recommendations?

In my opinion, square one should be Acoustics by Leo Beranek. This book lays out the fundamentals on how to mathematically model a loudspeaker and almost all other books use these electro-mechanical-acoustic circuit techniques as a starting point. Excellent (maybe required) reference if you want to work through the Thiele and Small AES papers.

This is an area seriously in need of an update in my opinion. Many of the new tools have changed the game. Personally, I've not found Vance's book to be of any use. I like Joe D's book on measurements but it is not aimed at the step-step process.

I've been lucky in that I had a mentor. Looking back over what I know it isn't in any book that I know of and it really isn't that complex if you have a basic engineering background.

Right now I'm enjoying Floyd Toole's new book but it isn't a "how" book but more of a "why" resource. Pick it up anyway because the "how" is pretty useless without the "why".

Pick up a good measurement system and spend several hundred hours using it. Pick up a copy of "Master Handbook of Acoustics" by Alton Everest. Floyd Toole's is "Sound Reproduction: The Acoustics and Psychoacoustics of Loudspeakers and Rooms". Neither of those tell you what you want to know but they are great books just the same.

Hello Wyloch

There probably isn't a single book that would satisfy your needs
create your own by COLLATING the information from the sites
below - theory and technical knowledge is one thing