Can Tannoy 609MK I be converted easily to MK II?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm a newbie at this, so please be patient with me. I've got a pair of Tannoy 609 MK I's, and although I like them very much, I find them very sibilant. I have heard the MK II's and I really like the way they sound, and would love to convert my speakers. My question is, does anybody know if it is just a matter of replacing/altering the crossovers, or do I also require a new set of drivers?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Hmmmm.... there are differences between the sixes Mk1 and 11 for sure. I have owned 611's Mk1 for years now and auditioned the MK1 and 2 versions side by side in my home for a few days.

I find the 611 Mk1's sibilant as you do but I found the 611 MK11's are perhaps a little muffled as if something was missing. I guess that's the trade-off. I believe that Tannoy were criticised for the forwardness of the Mk1's and the MK2 was their answer.

According to the manual, the crossover point remains the same for Mk1 and 2 at 2.5KHz.

I know that the Tannoy Sixes Mk1 and Mk2 were supposed to have different mid/bass drivers but I know that this is not always the case. This leads me to believe that all of the differences are likely in the tweeter and crossover. From memory, the crossover caps were the same but I couldn't verify the inductor because it wasn't marked. I may be able to check some old pics of the crossovers if you need this to be verified.

Here are my experiences of tackling the sibilance in the 611 Mk1. :

I tried reducing the tweeter's crossover capacitor a little from 3.2uF to 3.0uF. Not much discernable difference really! Reducing more may help .... maybe??