fiberglass TL - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th December 2008, 04:50 PM   #1
sergiof is offline sergiof  Portugal
diyAudio Member

Default fiberglass TL

Good evening!

I hope I'm not repeating some old topic about the subject, but I couldn't find any, so I decided to ask (also consider that I'm a newb in here, so any stupidity of mine "should" be taken with a smile )

After building some TL loudspeakers in wood, I became a little bit more ambitious and started to plan building a spiral pipe around a pole, that would work as the QWTL tube for the L22 Seas Woofer, in a 3 way loudspeaker (the other 2 being, most likely, Seas W15CY and Vifa XT25). That said, a lot of ideas on how to make this pipe came into mind, notably building a structure in fiberglass (or any other fiber that suits this). The bigger problem is the mould for that.

I thought in 2 possibilities, both needing to be explored (and eventually abandoned if not suitable). One of them would be doing a pipe structure using wicker, this one rolling around the pole. This "wicker pipe" would be later covered by fiberglass (being some kind of endoskeleton). The other one would be using a regular PVC pipe, again covered by fiberglass, and removed (have no idea how) when the fiberglass is firm.

Can you please help me with this?
(here's a very ugly sketch)
Click the image to open in full size.

Thank you very much!

(and since I'm on the season, Happy New Year to all of you!)
Old 30th December 2008, 07:19 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi and Welcome.

When I saw your design sketch I couldn't help but think of this:

http://www.t-linespeakers.org/projec...uke/index.html