Suggestions for Building a 1x15 Cab

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been "lurking" on the forums for a while. I've learned a bit, but couldn't find an exact answer (if such a beast exists) for what I wanna do. I just purchased an Ampeg SVT-3 Pro. I have a good 4x10 cab. I wanna add a 1x15 to make a nice stack. The only requirement is that it has to be an 8 ohm cab.

I'm interested in anything from full schematics to suggestions for individual components. I'm not concerned with grills, coverings, handles, etc. Mainly want input on speakers, drivers, etc. You know, the real "meat" of the cab. :)

I'm a newbie to this stuff, but willing to learn. I don't need to turn out a stellar product (since it's my first try). However, I want it to work and be a good launching point for making a stage worthy cab.

Obviously, I'd like to keep the price tag as low as possible, but I'm more concerned about learning how it's done and what works rather than keeping strictly to a budget (although staying under $250 would be nice).

Hi,

I have a 4x10 + 1x15 bass set up and TBH it is not that easy.
The 4x10 was from a combo, the 1x15 a different manafacturer.

Initially the 1x15 overpowered the 4x10, but I came across
another musician who's 1x15 cabinet was not "ballsy" enough.
A driver swap was duly arranged and we both became happier.

He got a louder Marshall driver 1x15, I got what was probably a
cheaper driver, but it gelled far better with the 4x10, adding bass
to a midrange sound I liked, though TBH the 4x10 made a better
guitar cabinet than it did a single bass cabinet.

The moral of this story is you need to match cabinet output levels.
Unless you know the drivers in the 4x10 and they have accurate
specifications doing this on paper is far more difficult than by ear.

If you do know the 4x10 drivers, then there should be a matching