zobel / phase

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
It will flatten the phase from an amplifier standpoint, but will not correct the phase from an audibility standpoint.

The amplifier will see something closer to a resistor, but it will not make the tweeter sounds better.

Often, I wonder why we are using Zobel in typical transistor designs... it only simplify slightly crossover designs at the expense of even more components.

I could be wrong, I'm not a professionnal, but that's how I see it. :D

Hi,

One of the reasons (rather than blindly) for using zobels or partial
zobels is to manipulate the phase response of the crossover.

The crossover for a zobelled bass/ mid driver will be very different
to a non-zobelled driver, phase and amplitude are affected.

Driven directly the zobel will not affect a drivers phase or response
for a typical transistor low source impedance voltage amplifier.

:)/sreten.

re:'phase and amplitude are affected' -
I guess I need to refine my question, how predictable is the phase change of a zobel ?
i.e. can you say for an xover of given order, you will get a given amount of phase change, plus so much extra from the zobel (presumably above it's knee freq)?
( there will assumedly be some divergence between theory and reality, let's just consider it theoretically first...)

It depends on how it is used.

The idea of a zobel separate from the crossover is a "cookbook" technique. Easy to explain, but only a small part of the story.... From professional designers you will see few "zobels" that merely cancel inductive rise - it is only another crossover component...to be manipulated like any other.

PeteMcK said:
re:'phase and amplitude are affected' -
I guess I need to refine my question, how predictable is the phase change of a zobel ?

Hi,

The short answer is that it is not.

It depends and the load impedance and the source impedance.