Tannoy upgrade, from 609s to...? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th November 2008, 04:35 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Tannoy upgrade, from 609s to...?

I am kind of new to fine audio. I have a pair of Tannoy 609s which are just fine... but I am wondering whether there's another Tannoy model which might make a sizeable improvement over these already good 609s.

I have already messaged with a member on this site named Martin and we have established the 615's with their improved bass are not worth considering, because I already have a decent sub.

Would anyone on this site like to message with me about other used Tannoy models? (I could never afford new high-end Tannoys.)

I want to run them with an 18 watt valve amp.

Tannoy has very recently advised me that for my audio room dimensions (16 feet by 11 feet by 8.5 feet) that 10" drivers would be optimum.

Has anyone had positive experience with such a model which you would like to share, re. speakers I could look for on the used market, not very old ones but say built in the 1980s or more recently?

Thanks in advance,
Neil
Old 1st December 2008, 03:13 AM   #2
Pallas is offline Pallas  Pakistan
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Tannoy upgrade, from 609s to...?

Quote:
Originally posted by photomusicfreak
Has anyone had positive experience with such a model which you would like to share, re. speakers I could look for on the used market, not very old ones but say built in the 1980s or more recently?