Proac Studio200 - Upgrade mods help needed - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th November 2008, 04:08 PM   #1
stu.dio is offline stu.dio  Greece
diyAudio Member

Default Proac Studio200 - Upgrade mods help needed

I'm an absolute novice electronics wise and need some advice. About a year ago I replaced the scanspeak 8542 drivers for 8545's and have enjoyed them since (see a previous thread if interested there are pictures of this).
Well it's that time of the year and I have an itch to replace the Ferrite-cored Inductors to Air Cored ones as I have read they perform better. I would also like to change the capacitors to Hovland Musicaps - again from reading about their performance on the net. Problem is I have no idea what the like for like is. Does anyone have a clue? bar me taking them out and going to an electricians to tell me. I have tried asking an engineer at ProAc - but they don't let anything out.
Any light shed on this would be of great help. PS I did look at the crossover when I last has them opened up and it does not state the values on the components - only on the resistors.

Thanks in advance.
Old 20th November 2008, 04:26 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Like for like = same electrical values, if that's what you mean.

Cored inductors are often used as the primary inductor in lowpass filters - advisable to keep them there, perhaps change the others. But you will never hear a difference swapping air cores for air cores - they are coils of wire and there are no audible differences considering how simple they all are.