Can I do anything with these cabinets?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I will preface this right off by stating I'm a newbie.

I'm nearing completion of my first tube amplifier. It's the "Simple SE" design using a pair of KT-88's so figure about 6W per channel when I run this in triode mode (preferred). I went way over budget on putting quality components into this amp so I can't afford the really nice speaker cabinets I want until the Spring. Therefore, I need something decent to get me by until then.

In my closet (pic linked below), I have a pair of small bookshelf 2-ways. I have no clue who made them, I don't even know where they came from, but they appear to be built solidly and I love the size of them. I'm wondering if I could somehow either throw a better woofer/tweeter/crossover in here OR somehow convert this to a small bass reflex box and go with a small Fostex (or other brand) full-range driver.

Specs I know of on the speakers:

10-7/16" tall, 7-1/4" wide, 5-1/2" deep
5/16" MDF
Opening for woofer is about 5-13/16"
Opening for tweeter is about 1-3/4"
No crossover to speak of, just a 1 uF cap on tweeter

My use:

Mostly near-field within 2 feet of sitting position in a small 10x10 room.
~6W per channel SE amp

My music tastes:

Very wide range but these days mostly Techno (Tangerine Dream, Franco Bianco), "Smooth Jazz" (Spyro Gyra), Folk Pop (James Taylor/Neil Diamond), and Celtic Rock (Great Big Sea).

Any ideas on how to improve upon these cabinets based on the info given? I'm not expecting stellar performance, I know anything I do will be a serious compromise. I will be buying better cabinets when I can. However, in the meantime, I don't have a problem spending a couple hundred to make these work.