what 2' inverted soft dome, cheap

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
high im looking around for some cheap 2-3 inch inverted soft dome mids for a open baffle system and im wondering what you guys could suggest that is budget concious ($100-250 for a pair)
and has at least a 80 wrms power handleing and a freqency response from approx 800- 6000 hz

Hi,

2" inverted soft dome ? I'm not aware of such a beast .....

I'm also no expert on Australian driver availability.

HiVi-DMB-A-FR.gif

THe Hi-Vi DMB-A seems good value, see tests at www.Zaphaudio.com .

:)/sreten.

i was confused

sorry guys this is like the first time talking about speakers to other lovers of audio i ment that they are convex or dome out, concave is what i have for all other drivers (woofer subs and orginal mid)

thanks guys

I was looking at some of the older Morel MDM 55 dome mids but they are expensive for this project

Hi,

What you gain at the top with a small dome you lose at the bottom.

A big issue with dome midranges is excursion in its lower range.
You cannot just look at the frequency response, the limit is usually
the dome size and its linear excursion.

discussed for a 2" in here : http://www.zaphaudio.com/ZDT3.5.html
But note the c/o is first order electrical, 2nd order L/R acoustic.

http://www.parts-express.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&CAT_ID=49&ObjectGroup_ID=299

There is a offer on a Morel dome and an alternative Hi-Vi.

:)/sreten.

diyAudio Member
Joined 2007
Most 2inch domes suffer from needing a crossover in the part of the audio spectrum in which our ears are most sensitive.

Jaycar 2"dome were avaliable some may be left in stores otherwise email me for a price on 3 unmounted, I decided on a different configuration.
Regards
Ted