System Efficiency when using multiple drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I realise that this is probably a rather naive question but as my background is primarily electronics and not audio I will ask it anyway.

If you have 1 driver and run 1watt thru it, i realise that at 1m the SPL is equal to the efficiency of the driver (subject to the usual conditions that can change this of course)..... if you then have say 2 'identical' drivers and feed 1watt total thru them is the efficiency still the same as with 1 driver? each driver is getting 1/2watt so will be 3db down which i would have thought would give the same overall SPL @ 1m as in example 1 but something in the back of my mind is telling me different........

Could someone please set the matter straight for me.

Thanks.

Well, things are not so simple - as usual ;-)

At low frequencies, using two drivers results in better efficiency, because of increase in acoustical impedance. This is right as long as the distance between the radiating cones is small in comparison with the wavelenght. The theoretical increase of 3 dB is never reached, ususal values are 1.5 to 2 dB.

At high frequencies (1000 Hz and up) drivers must be considered as two sources, causing mutual interference, and the measured efficiency is depending on the location of the microphone. The efficiency is thus increased in the axis, but the total radiating power is the same as with one driver.

This directivity is a good thing in spacious places such churches, but not in a living-room...

Regards, P.Lacombe

Well I've found that the +3db acoustical gain isn't all that 'theoritical'. That's why it's a good idea to use higher efficiency tweeters in a MTM design :)

Regarding the amp power, use this example: 1 driver=8ohm load, 2 drivers=4 ohm load. If it's a good amp the power output doubles when the impedance/load halves.

diyAudio Moderator Emeritus