Reviving the Onken

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hiya,

Newbie here and I wanted to get some thoughts on my first DIY horn project (thinking I might be biting off more than I can chew). The idea is to revive the Onken design of the 80s. So it's going to use the classic configuration:

Altec 414 in Onken cabinet
Onken 500 in LeCleach horn (550 Azurahorn)
JBL 2405

Was thinking of sticking to the recommended cross-over points of 800 Hz and 8000Hz, 2nd order Butterworth slope...

Any comments appreciated! I'm no techie...

Rgds,

JJ

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Go for it!

There has been a lot written about the Onken box on these pages - but you are not trying unknown drivers, so you should have no problems.

The only tricky part will be the crossover. I remember them all as being 2nd order passive with about the x-over points you mention. Tweaking the x-over slopes and phase will be where the system really comes together.

Have fun with the project - the results will be well worth it. :D

Thanks. This is abit like stepping into the unknown for me... scary but exciting at the same time.

Am waiting for the arrival of the various bits/drivers and then will start on making the Onken cabinet. After that I will definitely need the advice from here for the x-overs :)

JJ

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
I finished mine about 2 yrs ago and have spent a little time tweaking the X-O design.

Mine used the Iconic 165-8G aka Great Plains Audio 515-8G with JBL 4333 mid horns and 2402 annular ring horn tweeters.

Cross over is at 800Hz and 8kHz and I am very pleased with the results. They are completely competitive with anything I have heard to relatively obscene price levels, and like you I had the distinct feeling I was biting off a bit more than I could chew, but success is its own reward..