Small first project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey everybody here is the deal: I have decided to try and build a new set of enclosures for my desktop speakers as an introduction to building speaker enclosures. I have some experience building sub woofer enclosures, but that is easy if you have the dimensions already given to you.

Here is what I am working with:
Klipsch Pro Media Ultra 5.1 surround system

http://www.klipsch.com/products/details/promedia-ultra-5-1.aspx#specifications

Here are some pics of the center channel opened up:

DSC00806.jpg

DSC00807.jpg

The enclosure is made of thin plastic, and I am thinking that a solid birch or MDF enclosure could help the sound a bit. Also, I cannot find any info on these drivers so I am having a hard time designing an enclosure. The Klipsch engineering department holds their information like Fort Knox! they wont give me ANY information on the T/S parameters, volume recommendations, etc. All said and done I need some help with the enclosure design... can anyone help me??

Thanks for the quick response! I will try to measure them myself... but I am fearing the accuracy of such readings :D Either way it will give me a good experience like you said.

Also, once I get the required measurements, all I will need to do is put them into WinISD and use the dimensions given?

Ok, so what are my tolerances for measureing the volume? I know that I should be as accurate as I can, but I am wondering if I am off by a given amount, it will cancel out any benefit of me building better enclosures?

Basically, how important is the volume of the box, and how accurate do I need to be in order to improve the acoustics of the speakers?

Thanks in advance :)

For sealed box it's not critial. It is more important for vented box.