Help with HiVi F8 Project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my first post, and I'd like to start out by saying I'm a complete novice - but I've wanted to try some kind of speaker project for 20 years. This started by trying to find decent replacement drivers for a pair of Mission speakers I had...

I came across a program called WinISD. I enterd the dimension of my enclosure and port and tried plugging in various speakers from the Parts Express catalog to see how they might perform. HiVi F8's seemed to be pretty flat and within my price range.

I was pleased with the replacement - they far outperformed the original 8" drivers. The low end get much deeper and better defined.

I thought the cabinets may have been a limiting factor to the efficiency of the drivers. And, some frequencies around 100-300hz were distorted at times. I was able to live with that... But, then the particle board backs of the cabinets started pushing past their retaining screw heads! What a racket!

So, I read a little (and probably far too little), and I decide to build my own cabinet. I also chose Morel MDT-20 tweeters (not sure now if that was a great choice) and Dayton 2Khz crossovers - both from Parts Express.

Here's where I get into trouble...

When I go to put HiVi's recommended box volume of 35 liters into WinISD, I noticed there was an option to show the driver parameters from their database. I noticed the parameters were different that what HiVi posted on their website. I decided to go with HiVi's values.

The recommended enclosure size still only came to a little over 30 liters. But, I decided to go with the 35 liter enclosure anyway. I used 3/4 MDF and built a pair of rough boxes for testing. They sounded TERRIBLE!