Digital X-over project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

For some time now I have been working on a CD player project. It so happens that I'm using an FPGA and 4 fully separate DAC channels. So why not try to put a digital X-over into the thing!

But I've never built X-overs before. My experience is more on combined digital and analog filter design without speaker elements involved. So I need some feedback on what makes sense and what does not.

My initial design is as follows:
An 8x oversampler takes CD input samples gives me stereo data at 32bits / 352800 samples pr. second. The resolution at this stage is more or less arbitrary. It comes form the 16bit dynamic range of a CD and will eventually be dithered down to 24bit for the DACs.

Each of the stereo channels is passed through 2 X-over filters to produce L-hipass, L-lopass, R-hipass, R-lopass. I can make more filters but four is the number of analog outputs on the board. The four outputs will have separate digital volume control (0 to -6dB) to adjust for any gain differences between bass and treble. Master volume control will still be analog and external.

The X-overs themselves I imagine as 5th order IIR filters where the coefficients can be uploaded via RS232 on the fly. The coefficients are also 32bit, although the FPGA compiler can stretch a bit further. The output signal to be fed back in the IIRs is dithered down to 32 bits. I plan to use Direct Form I with parts from the Xilinx MAC core.

With digital IIRs it is possible to make X-overs where the hipass and lopass parts add to 1, and hence play back with linear phase. (Search for my previous posts.) But to do that the IIR itself needs higher order (5) than the resulting hipass and lopass (3). Hence generic 5th order digital IIR filters.

So to some questions:
1) Do you think 32 bit coefficients and feedback will do?