The story of my life: diy speakers (as told by an EE)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I figure I'd chronicle my first and a half speaker build because a.) I love reading other people's threads and I learn a lot from them and b.) I'll probably learn a thing or two from your comments and unofficially c.) I have nothing to do at the moment. :smash:

I'm an electrical engineer so I know a thing or two about electronics. (Ok maybe I know a lot. But I definitely know more than is healthy) I'm a semi-competent wood worker. I can cut things... yeah. But don't expect me to be cutting fine art out of wood anytime soon.

I say first and a half build because I'm re-using drivers I had in my first build but making new cabinets and crossovers. I'll be making bookshelf sized 2-way with vifa XT25TG30-04 tweeters and P17WJ00-08 woofers. The cabinets will be around 15 liters / .52 ft^3 in volume and will be ported and tuned to 50Hz. The drivers will be crossed over at 2.5kHz LR4 acoustic. Crossovers will be designed and modeled with measurements I'll make of the drivers in the cabinets. I'll be using speaker workshop for modeling.

So here's what I got done over the Memorial Day weekend:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

MDF is cut for the cabinets. Even with a budget table saw, MDF cuts like butter.
(a large stock sheet of MDF cut into 1/3's fits nicely into the back of a toyota prius, just FYI.)

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Must... have... coffee...

I prefer to cut braces with a router and guide. I think they're neater that way... well at least MDF man approves.

I also prefer not to go bananas with clamps. It's glue and screw all the way for me. Besides, I can get 4 cabinets done an hour this way and you can actually move them after they're done.