Crossover design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK, Im going to reveal my ignorance here so be kind.
I have tweeters and woofers (Peerless: 2x P810921 1"tweeters and 4x 830883 6.5"woofers).
I wish to use pre-made crossovers as Im not an electrical engineer.
Now the question, is it possible to "tune" the crossover by replacing a component until the desired separation of frequencies is accomplished and the sound is right?:xeye:

Is it possible? yes. But how hard (without the ability to measure) depends on how well trained you are with music, identifying anomalies over a particular frequency band of annoyance, your knowledge of the behaviour of your specific drivers and how sensitive your ears are.

For most of us - that would be as easy as finding your way through Fangorn forest blindfolded without legs. :)

Worst case - you could blow your tweeters ($160+ shipping of damage) and blow your amplifier.

The drivers you have are worth implementing properly (they are good drivers). You don't want to "fry" your lovely Peerless 810921 with a guessed crossover. Another possibility is your initial guessed crossover could present a low load to your amplifier and cook that too.

An off the shelf crossover at the very least will not account for your specific drivers impedance - remember changes in impedance greatly affect crossover behaviour.

The options (most to least preferred):
1. Find an existing design using those drivers and implement that

2. Ask someone (like Jay) to simulate / model a crossover for you. You would need to let that person know the cabinet constraints (size) and driver layout you want. A 2 way MTM or 2.5 way TMM are possible. Or they could work it out for you....

3. Cannibalise 2 different designs that use those drivers. ie. "Copy" the woofer circuit of one MTM design usign the 830883, and copy the tweeter leg of another design using the 810921.