Need advice on a horn based system - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th March 2008, 12:49 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Need advice on a horn based system

Hi,

I'm new to the whole DIY audio thing. As a first project, I want to make a system based on horns. It primary use will be home theater, but I want it to sound good with music too. I'm on a budget, but I want it to be a significant upgrade from my current system which is a creative Gigaworks S750. This shouldn't be too hard as its only a $400 commercial system.

What I'm looking at so far:

Subwoofer (20-150 Hz): Tuba Home Theater http://www.billfitzmaurice.com/THT.html

Mid bass (150-2500 Hz): ?? I need advice on this

Tweeter (2500 - 20000 HZ): BMS 4540nd compression driver with a parts express 12" waveguide. I'll buy a couple of cheap waveguides/horns from parts express to try out at the same time. If I don't like any of them, then I'll upgrade to something more expensive (maybe from 18 sound).

I need advice on what to do with the mid bass. It would make sense for it to have a sensitivity of about 100-105 db to match up with the sub and tweeter. I want it to sound natural and it also needs to be fairly cheep. Also, what do you think about the components that I have already chosen?

Also, I guess I should mention that I'm planning to bi-amp the speakers with low component chip amps. I'm planning to start out building a 2.1 system, and if I like the results, I'll upgrade to 7.2. Space to put the speakers is not a big deal to me. 50% speaker area and 50% living area is fine by me. However, I would like the speakers to be smaller than the 3x3x3 ft subwoofer.

Thanks,
GestaltH
Old 8th March 2008, 10:54 AM   #2
diyAudio Member