tweeter advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi all . i recently won a set of beyma 102nd speakers on ebay. im gonna build a diy boombox (another one :) ) with them.
theyre rated at 103db, so i was tryina find tweeters to match them. im a novice at this stuff. i liked these, because theyre light, 600 grams or so, which is ideal.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Eminence-Supert...ZWD1VQQ_trksidZp1638.m118.l1247QQcmdZViewItem

theyre rated at 105db. is this a total mismatch, or, will a decibel or so in the difference affect how they sound together?

big thanks,
ned .

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Ned,

The Beyma is a mid bass unit so you will need a woofer to go with it. The only frequency chart I could find only went to 2kHz so we can't be sure of the overlap with the tweeter. Also being 10" means the beaming and cone break up might be a problem below the intended XO point of the tweeter.
The sensitivity rating of the tweeters is with their particular horn so it might be lower with whatever horn you choose.
The difference in level can be adjusted with a L-pad.
The sensitivity rating of the mid bass might be fudged a little but again the tweeter can be adjusted to suit.

I trust this is for some sort of PA or outdoor use? This isn't Hi-Fi stuff, it's designed for volume, not accuracy.

no no, sorry, you were correct, im going to build a nasty boombox, ghettoblaster, portable radio. hook an mp3 player into an amp32. i was thinking with this speaker i could produce lots of volume for a long time, on one battery charge. but you reckon ill need another woofer, im hearbroken :) it just wont put out enough bass?

Thanks for that Scott. im always apprehensive about starting threads on here cos my level of knowledge is very poor. so far its been unfounded though cos ye've all been super helpful.

ok, scrap those woofers. i want low end, i want xmax.