Another Unity Horn

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Conical, because of constant directivity, which is a must for good sound quality both in home and pro environments, but not because of the same reasons.

Square mouth for of the ability to array several of them without radiation pattern interference, which would occur with other shapes like round mouth.

(both is my guess and i am no expert on this)

MaVo said:
Conical, because of constant directivity, which is a must for good sound quality both in home and pro environments, but not because of the same reasons.

Square mouth for of the ability to array several of them without radiation pattern interference, which would occur with other shapes like round mouth.

(both is my guess and i am no expert on this)

The oblate spheroid, if I understand the issues correctly, is really only significantly different from the conical horn in its gradual entry transition. This should minimize internal reflections caused by refraction around steep transitions, leading to HOMs. PB, is that the issue as regards the square shape? If so, it begs the question, can we roughly quantify this to get at how much effect we might see with how much deviation from an OS rate of change? What can we get away with, in other words.

Sheldon

Tom said roughly the following regarding HOM in unities: They are no concern, because the transition of round to square only affects the highest frequencies, since it takes place deep in the horn, where the internal dimensions are acoustically small for most of the audio bandwidth. Same goes for the entry holes. Only waves which WL is much longer than the horn dimension pass them, so no HOM are generated there. Regarding the square shape... i think a OS WG can also be square, as its only difference is in the expansion rate of the first throat centimeters, to smooth the transition between driver opening angle and horn angle.