First DIY - bi amped 2-way standmounts - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th February 2008, 06:32 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default First DIY - bi amped 2-way standmounts

Hi

I've been lurking here for a while, reading and absorbing the info on offer and I think it's time for my first post.
I'm a student at the moment and term ends in a few weeks then I'll have 6 weeks off some of which to devote to this project, so despite this being ambitious for a first project I think I'll be ok as I have plenty of time.

The idea is to go with an active crossover. I have picked the Behringer CX2310. I can pick it up here in the UK for £60 and by all accounts it's a very decent piece of kit.

For the amplification I have a Harman Kardon HK680 whose bass reproduction I love so much I won't part with it so that will be driving the midbass driver.
I have yet to decide between a T-amp and an LM3886/3875 for the tweeter.
I have seen some debate between these two, but would be glad to hear peoples thoughts. Given it will be driving the tweeter is either one known to be better at treble reproduction?

On to driver choices...

For the tweeter I was thinking about the Peerless 810921. Seems decent value for money and I'm hoping will give me what I need.

For the midbass I am looking at the Scanspeak 18W/4531G 7" Revelator 4 ohm. This driver is expensive but I have read very good things about it and I'm willing to invest the money.

The cabinet then is the next barrier. The speakers might well be placed close to walls so a front ported design is preferable.
I will probably try to use a design I can find. I'll do some more investigation, but I'd appreciate some help with the kind of size of cabinet I might need.