Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th January 2008, 03:23 AM   #1
jekman is offline jekman  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Recommended Altec 604 Cabinet Designs

Recently I was able to obtain a pair of Altec Lansing 604 G8 drivers with original crossovers (not at a reasonable price). They were in pretty nice shape but enclosed in 3/4 inch plywood 18 x 18 x 30 boxes. At least the enclosures were baffeled. Now, I'm a pretty good woodworker and cabinet maker, so difficult is not a problem. But when it comes to the physics of designing an enclosure to best display the fine sound attributes of these drivers, I'm an idiot.

I'm sure Altec Lansing designed enclosures for these drivers and I would love to know what they were. More importantly where I could get copies of the detailed plans. Also I would welcome thoughts on a good enclosure designs from those of you familiar with the Altec 604 G8.
Old 19th January 2008, 08:38 AM   #2
tomp787 is offline tomp787  United States
diyAudio Member

Default 604 cabinets

Hello,