Which Driver to use for 100hz-500hz? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th December 2007, 08:31 PM   #1
KCCT82 is offline KCCT82  United States
diyAudio Member

Question Which Driver to use for 100hz-500hz?

Hi,

I want to build a 4-way system that would do quite well from 20-20k, with 90+ sensitivity (size is not a big problem).

I'm using for each side (2) JBL 2242H for 20hz-100hz, then from 500hz-20K I'll be using the BMS 4592ND coaxial CD.

Considering the importance of the frequency range, I'm having trouble deciding on which driver to use for 100hz to 500 hz. The JBL 2206H in a sealed box or JBL 2020H sealed?

I have no experience with TAD, anyone have suggestions on whether the TAD 1102 is worth the price? Thanks

Keith

PS- i'll be using (2) behringer dcx2496 for all the x-over points 48db/oct
Old 30th December 2007, 04:16 AM   #2
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

I don't have any experience with the particular drivers you describe. But I know the JBL professional line to be good quality and well designed. The only risk would be that JBL expects a certain cabinet configuration to make the drivers give their best but I also have faith in Theile-Small.

My only comment would be on the choice to put a XO point at 500Hz - right, smack in the middle of human voice fundamentals. That XO point will have such sensitive perceptual adjustment and I know I'd drive myself crazy trying to tune such a node. I really believe you need one driver for 350Hz to 1KHz as a bare minimum, then that critical band is under a known mechanical control.

Is it too late to reconsider your drivers?
Old 30th December 2007, 06:32 AM   #3
diyAudio Member