Making some tower speakers for my boat?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
What do you guys think?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I want to build something like that. I can build it with car audio drivers just fine, not much work at all, but I was thinking of trying some horns with my setup to help project the sound to the rider about 70 feet off the back of the boat.

Most setups that you buy, the useres complain it can be hard to hear the music sometimes. There is a company called wetsounds that makes some speakers with a horn in them.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

So my question is, what kind of horn setup would be good for a setup like this without breaking the bank? I am new to horn design so any help would be great.

Oh BTW great forum, have been reading it for years but never registered.

Find yourself some high efficiency horn tweeters, something like this -

http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/Audio,+V...DED/MHD-230/RD/displayProduct.jsp?sku=LS00620

Which is 109dB if you want to spend more money a compresion driver an horn should be capable of 120dB but will be significantly more expensive. Put them on the far left and right of the boat and angle them in to focus 70 feet behind the boat. They may not be able to hear the mid range from the main driver but the trebble should cut through, probably kill passing bats as well.