Foam vs Rubber surround

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
If it weren't for the dearly departed foam surrounds of my AR9's, (Acoustic Research), I would not have found this forum. So in a way I'm glad.
First question; where can I get replacements for the 12-11.5" woofers, (I have bought some 12"rubber surrounds but they do not fit).
Second question; I have already replaced the foam 8" surrounds with rubber surrounds, (on the lower mids). I have noticed a slight change, (Kings New Clothes?) but they still sound good. What are the pro's and con's of surround materials?
Thanks in advance for any enlightenment that you can offer.
Regards WALKER
PS Appologies if I have missed it thrashed out in the past, as I'm a newbie to this forum.

Speaker Surrounds

Walker,

If you do not mind shipping your drivers I would highly recommend contacting Peter at Speakerworks in Concord, NSW. This gentleman has done nothing but speaker repairs for almost 30 years. I just spoke him to several days ago and we were discussing AR speakers and replacing the surrounds on them. He seems to have sources for surrounds that few people anywhere in the world have. He will sell you the surround for you to install. But for 10" rubber surround he will charge about $55 or he will fit the surrounds, shim and align the voice coils and supply a 2 years parts and labor warranty for $83. You take your pick, I am sure that you can guess what I choose.

Peter - Speakerworks

02 9746 5754
0407 932 294

http://www.speakerworks.com.au

By the way if you have an ideal where I can find a pair of AR-94's, I would be a friend forever. I have scrounged the US and since I moved to Sydney I have been looking everywhere and have come with zip. I want a pair of AR-94's any almost any condition very desperately.

Cheers,

Surf, Sun & Sound

AR - 94 Brochure

Walker,