Amplifier for Tangband speakers and speaker placement? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th November 2007, 08:36 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Amplifier for Tangband speakers and speaker placement?

I was told to look into the Tang Band W3-1364S 3" Bamboo Cone Driver for a simple speaker setup I need. Is there a cheap amplifier that I can get to power two of these speakers? I was thinking of using the logitech Z560 amplifier to power them, but that means I would also have to use the logitech subwoofer also. Is there something relatively cheap that I can use to power these speakers in stereo that I can easily hook up to the computer/soundcard? I'm still a newbie when it comes to this.

Also, I am building a rectangular table 30" W x 40" L x 36" H and I was wondering where the best place to put the speakers would be since I need to build them into the table itself. Right now I was thinking about putting one on each of the shorter sides (30" sides) about 30" from the bottom.
Old 15th November 2007, 09:43 PM   #2
Account disabled at member's request

Visit the thrift stores. A used receiver is the cheapest solution. I found a Pioneer SA-6800 once for $10.00 (thats a 48 watt/channel amp).
Interesting that you want to build the speakers into the tables. I don't think that's the best approach.
Old 15th November 2007, 11:25 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Yeah I agree. I posted another thread about something similar but I didn't get any replies really.

I don't know that a thrift store is an option since I wouldn't know how to take out or find the amp specs and know whether I can hook it to the computer or not.