Mission ARGONAUT

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I just bought (via ebay) a pair of Mission 780 ARGONAUT loudspeakers in perfect condition.

I liked them very much in the late eighties but could not afford them as I was a student.

In those days, as far as I know, Mission and Cyrus still belonged together.

Now here in Germany I cannot get any information on the Argonaut.

Therefore may I ask, if anybody here can provide me some information as for example a scanned copy a an Argonaut test, product information or maybe a crossover scheme (as I might try to upgrade the parts in the frequency crossover).

I would be happy for any information and help.

Many greetings from southern Germany,
Alexander :)

P.S.:
The Argonaut I am speaking of is the floorstander with two 8" bass drivers an one tweeter in between (in a d´Appolito configuration).

d'Appolito ? I think not ..... ;)/sreten.

mis_780argonaut.jpg

Hi,
There is an MTM version. They were longer (proper) floorstanders and they had the old rectangular Mission tweeter between two 8" drivers.
Perhaps Sreten's picture shows the 780a?

All I have to offer is a link to bi-amping instructions:

http://oldsite.mission-hifi.com/archive/archive.htm

It's nice because it shows them being wired to the early Cyrus amps (One or Two).
I have some Early Cyrus gear and I'd love to hear how that sounds. :D

Good luck,
Martin.

Edit: There's also a manual for the 780 Argonaut on that site but you should check the last page of the manual to be sure that the measurements (Height) are the same as yours.

Hello Sreten, hello Sonusthree, hello @ all,

well, there are several different LS under the name of "Argonaut" as I had to realize now.

The one that I have bought, ist this one (see picture).

It should be the "final" model dating from the mid/late eighties.

Thanks for the link to the manual.