Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th February 2003, 04:11 PM   #1
Oger is offline Oger  United States
diyAudio Member

Default TB W3-871S project needs bass

I am working on a project using four W3-871S drivers in a sealed enclosure and need to add some bass. I am looking at the Peerless WF 210 or possibly the MCM 55-2185 (I can't find any specs for the MCM). Does anyone have any feedback for this kind of setup?
Old 13th February 2003, 11:20 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I'm no expert, but I'll reply just to keep this thread in focus. I have a few of these drivers (871's) and I'm interested in most anything to do with them.

These are good as full range, have you considered bi-amping? Maybe with a sub using these: http://www.lambdacoustics.com/pricing.html That might eliminate the need to balance the bass driver's efficiency.

OTOH the Peerless WF 210 fits well with the frugalphile philosophy and might be appropriate for Bricolo's $150 project.

How are you going to arrange them? Four seems small for a line array, Dave (Planet 10) has suggested bi-pole to take advantage of push-push and (I think) eliminate baffle step compensation and lobing. How will 4 work?

There was this thread: Uber cheap, yet amazingly good.

And this one:is two full range drivers in one baffle a problem?

I'll bet if Halo were here, he'd suggest adding more information to get others involved. (even talking to yourself works for some) ;^)
Old 14th February 2003, 04:25 AM   #3
diyAudio Member