Need help building bass cab - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th February 2003, 09:17 PM   #1
abonas is offline abonas  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to abonas
Default Need help building bass cab

I'm new to building loudspeakers and i need some help. I have great woodworking skills and great experience and knowledge in speaker wirering (I work at Jo-Di's car audio in connecticut). Ok here's my idea. I want to pretty much copy the SWR Big Bertha cab style. The 2 drivers I want to use are Eminences Kappa Pro 15 and some kind of high power tweeter. But i don't where to start with programs like WinISD. Help , you can see i'm in a nice delema.
Old 10th February 2003, 10:35 PM   #2
halojoy is offline halojoy  Sweden
On Hiatus

Default Re: Need help building bass cab

Quote:
Originally posted by abonas
I'm new to building loudspeakers and i need some help. I have great woodworking skills and great experience and knowledge in speaker wirering (I work at Jo-Di's car audio in connecticut). Ok here's my idea. I want to pretty much copy the SWR Big Bertha cab style. The 2 drivers I want to use are Eminences Kappa Pro 15 and some kind of high power tweeter. But i don't where to start with programs like WinISD. Help , you can see i'm in a nice delema.
Build a BIG box, a la Bertha.
Then screw the woofers into it.
It is a good start.
After all you are no beginner.

/halo - a start is a good beginning
Old 10th February 2003, 11:03 PM   #3
diyAudio Moderator

Hi abonas

From the look of the Kappa's response graph, they have a pretty nasty peak at about 1.6K, and roll off quite quickly after that, so I think you would be looking at using mid drivers as well as your tweeters to get a reasonable sounding box.