Vifa xt25 tweeter

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2002
Actually, I have no experience with this tweeter, but it is supposed to get very harsh if not crossed over high enough. It may have a low Fs, but most poeple say that you need >2.4KHz with at least 3rd order on it. Down to 2Khz with 4th order.

I would guess that this is due to the smaller radiating area of the dome compared to smaller tweeters.

-Paul

First of all im surpriced that the crossover should be that low, the shop I got it from, told me that the xover should be around 2700hz
Is there any body who has some practical experinces with this tweeter, because I have been told that it should be one of the best tweeters on the market, but im not getting any good results.
I have heard this tweeter in a Audio physics speaker and it sounded a lot better than mine and it is the same tweeter!!

Looking at distortion measurements that were in one of the recent issues of Klang & Ton, second harmonic goes up considerably below 3 kHz while third stays low.

Second is not as nasty as third, but if you listen at high levels, first order even around 3 kHz may be inadequate. On the other hand, if you use a steep active XO, crossing over at or below 2 kHz should be fine.

Looking at the plots, step response and waterfall look very good. Third order disto is good, second is pretty mediocre. Some convential dome tweeters, e.g. Audax & Peerless, have much better performance.

I know disto plots are not everything, but just going by the measurements, I wonder why this tweeter is so highly regarded.

I have listenend to them in both the Sonus Faber Cremona and the new T+A TCI 3, and I must say I liked both of them very much.

Regards,

Eric