Studio 200 tweeter replacement - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th September 2007, 04:26 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Studio 200 tweeter replacement

Hi All,

I've been using ProAc Studio 200 for 12 years, and the tweeter seems to be going bad now. I hear some high-frequency distortion sound occasionally, and it sounds like the tweeter in bad shape. I unscrewed the driver to find out the model number and it is read:

25 TFFC-C
H563 - 6ohm

I know this driver is a Seas one, but their website or Madisound.com doesn't show this one. I guess I'll have to find the closest one among available Seas tweeters, and I need to find the one that will fit into this driver's place on this speaker. Could somebody help me to find a good substitute? Thank you.
Old 20th September 2007, 04:36 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Contact Proac?
Old 20th September 2007, 10:43 AM   #3
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi,

does it seem to be similar to 25TFFC http://seas.no/seas_line/tweeters/H519.PDF ?

/sreten.
Old 20th September 2007, 05:34 PM   #4
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Make sure it isn't a failing capacitor in the cross-over before yee spend thee money.. (Swap tweeters from one box to the other.)
Old 20th September 2007, 05:55 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Thank you all for your replies.

I contacted ProAc dealer in the US before, but they didn't provide information, and only tried to sell their overpriced 'custom' replacement drivers. That's why I am looking for 'generic' Seas replacement. To be accurate, I didn't contact ProAc headquarter in England.