toning down highrange

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just say i have a speaker that goes from 200hz to 20k (fairly flat) and the bass from 200hz to 80hz is only -4db, can i use some sort of a crossover to "tone down" the 200hz-20k range at a level of -4db.
This would give me a response of 80hz to 20k. I dont care about sensitivity.

What about L pads can i get them to cover such a range?

thanks

sorry i didn't mention it is one full range driver...its a tang band w3-593sf.
im trying to boost its bass by lowering its high range. im still fairly new to this but wouldn't the resistor you just mentioned be for a 2 or 3 way system to lower the db of the mid/highrange drivers

damianl said:
Just say i have a speaker that goes from 200hz to 20k (fairly flat) and the bass from 200hz to 80hz is only -4db, can i use some sort of a crossover to "tone down" the 200hz-20k range at a level of -4db.
This would give me a response of 80hz to 20k. I dont care about sensitivity.

What about L pads can i get them to cover such a range?

thanks

Sooo, what your saying is that you have a speaker that goes from 80Hz to 20kHz? But that it is down 4dB at 80Hz? Is the roll-off smooth from 200Hz down to 80Hz, or is there a definite step down at 200Hz and it's relatively flat the next octave and a bit down?

Or am I swinging the wrong end of the cat?

You might be able to make do with a R||L||C filter if it's a smooth roll-off from 200Hz down to 80Hz, otherwise I think you might be stuck with only using 200Hz up (or even higher as the big step will affect the crossover anyway).

damianl said:
the rolloff from 200 to 80hz is quite smooth. Is it worth just sticking to an equalizer to do this job? or is what im saying actually quite possible?