Transmission Line Question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm new to all this but am quite interested in building a t/l 3 way speaker with the Volt RV3143 as the bass driver. I've read some of MJ King's stuff but find it mind bogglingly complicated. I'm only on a Mac computer so I haven't been able to use his worksheets yet unfortunately.

Anyway.... One of the first things that I'm wondering is how do I know what the cross setional area of the line should be? I've read some stuff that gives an equation to work it out and I've read other stuff saying that it should be the same as the Sd of the driver. Can anyone shed any light on this?

I'd also be very interested to hear from anyone who's made a t/l with this driver.

Thanks, and I'm sure that this will be the first of many questions!

Here is one possible design.

b

1(1)

Attachments

• volt rv4143-tl.gif
    volt rv4143-tl.gif
    27.5 KB · Views: 1,897
Disabled Account
Joined 2007
jamiematrix said:
Anyway.... One of the first things that I'm wondering is how do I know what the cross setional area of the line should be? I've read some stuff that gives an equation to work it out and I've read other stuff saying that it should be the same as the Sd of the driver. Can anyone shed any light on this?

Hi,
You can work out TL cross section and length on paper. I explained it here:
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=107889

Quote from the linked thread:
"DrEM,
To make up for my previous blunder I'll try to help out here.
The drivers Fs is 31, use that and the lines taper ratio to get the overall line length.
Using Martin's alignment tables, I get 89 inches with a 3:1 taper for this frequency.
To determine the closed end (So) cross section involves some math. Using the drivers Qts to get variable Dr from table 3: Dr= .1313
Using Fs and taper ratio to get variable Dz from table 2: Dz= 41.73.