What speakers are good for tube amps?? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th August 2007, 01:47 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default What speakers are good for tube amps??

Hi i'm new to this stuff and I need some help. I am getting ready to build a system, my first and I am going with a push pull 6v6 tube amp.

I already ordered 2 HH Scott 8" mids and 3 inch tweeters with crossovers and I still need woofers.

I'm looking at a couple of Utah 12 inch and a pair of KENWOOD KL-999X 16" WOOFERS.

Are either of these a good choice??

can anyone recommend brands to look for, not too expensive!

Thanks,
Rob Capone
Old 28th August 2007, 02:05 AM   #2
anatech is offline anatech  Canada
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Rob,
Are you just buying different drivers and hoping to simply stick them together? That is no way to get anything good going on.

You might want to buy the speakers completed. What tube amps "like" to see is a relatively constant impedance. Most systems would have been corner loaded horns or large bass reflex types. The smaller systems used open back boxes. You also want something that is efficient. You will have 10 ~ 12 wrms at your disposal, possibly a touch higher (we are talking about fractions of a dB here).

Some people like single full range speaker systems. His means that that one speaker is more expensive.

-Chris
Old 28th August 2007, 02:29 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Location: Mar del Plata, a BIG seasonal getaway city, can see the Ocean from our residence.
Default Tube driven...

Hi Rob,
Are you commited to using these specific drivers for your project?
If so, you should have checked the SPL (Sound pressure level) rating and noted the frequency range of each for a degree of overlap.