Please recommend a woofer. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd February 2003, 05:50 AM   #1
1Time is offline 1Time  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Please recommend a woofer.

Hi all, I'm new at DIY speaker building. Please recommend a woofer; I need to buy four 6 1/2" woofers for use in a pair of two-way floor standing speakers, TWW configuration. I'm willing to pay up to about $50 per woofer.

So far I've got two Dayton silk dome tweeters and 2nd order L/R two-way crossovers @ 2,500 Hz from PartsExpress.com. The enclosures are 2.06 cu ft each, 37H x 8W x 12D, ported in the front. I assume 8 ohm woofers would be best (?). And, although I'll be using this pair of speakers for home theater, I'm hoping they'll turn out good enough for listening to music as well.

Thanks for your recommendations.
Old 3rd February 2003, 06:24 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Here's a Dayton woofer I'm considering (Part Number 295-305 Dayton 6 1/2 woofer).

And here's an Audax woofer (Audax HM170G8 6-1/2" paper woofer).

And here's a Vifa woofer that looks pretty good (Vifa P17WJ-00 6-1/2" woofer).

And here's a Peerless woofer (Peerless 832732 CC 6-1/2" woofer).

Does any one of these look better than the others? Or, can you recommend another? Thanks again.
Old 3rd February 2003, 07:38 AM   #3
Taco is offline Taco  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

The audax is a very nice woofer, I think it's more modern than the others. And in my opinion is paper better sounding than polyprop.
Old 3rd February 2003, 09:32 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Thanks to your input, Taco, unless I hear any other opinions to the contrary, I'll be going with the Audax woofers.
Old 3rd February 2003, 10:45 AM   #5
diyAudio Member