Two 8ohm speakers make 4, how to fix

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am making a center channel out of two Fostex fe103 full range drivers. When I hook them up it will drop them down from 8ohms to 4ohms or 16ohms which I do not want. How do I fix this problem and would 16ohms be doable for the center channel? Most center channels have two woofers and a tweeter, so how do they make the two woofers not drop the impedence to 4ohms?

Any help is appreciated since I am new to this.

I browsed the forum for a while but did not find an answer to this problem.

Thanks.

Ed Robinson

I've seen it done with musicians bass cabinets : using four speakers total, wire two in series, then the other two in series, then parallel both groups. It gives the original impedance. But I doubt this is how you want your center channel to end up...

Maybe someone here has built a center channel speaker you could copy...

D00d!

The answer comes down to whatever is driving this. If the power amp in your setup cannot drive 4 ohm speakers, then you need to go to 16 ohms. Don't worry about the volume not matching, even if you have a surround receiver that's all in one box, it has settable levels for each channel.

BTW, why 2 drivers? It's my number one audio pet peeve that people take the function of the centre channel, to provide a point source to anchor voice to the screen, and then just throw that out the window and design one purely based on the cosmetics of a speaker that lies flat. Argh!

Hi Ed,

Without using resistors you can't get to where you are going. Your choices are 4 or 16.

There's nothing wrong with 16 ohms but my question really is why do you want two woofers in the centre channel? An ideal set up is to have all speakers identical.