Enclosures for Hartley 24"

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

I wish to build a cabinet for my pair of Hartley 24" speaker (the one with pipe sticking out from the middle)

It would be cross over at 150 Hz.

Any suggestion on the parameters of the cabinet?

I am new to speaker building, from searching, the Fs = 28-29 Hz, Q = 1.1 - 1.2

Could anyone suggest the size of the cabinet to be build?

Thanks alot!

Hi Sushii,

U need at least three parameters to calculate box size.
Fs, Vas and Qts

Now it's the Qts missing. But I bet if it's not in the TS-database, u won't find it anywhere else.
http://www.thielesmall.com/database.asp

If Q=1.1~1.2 is the Qts, it'll only be useful either in open baffle or in huge sealed box. We're talking 200+ liters of volume.

Those are definitely some odd looking drivers, and perhaps fairly rare too.
Without being able to obtain any parameters, and for a project this large, I'd say testing for Thiele-Small's yourself might be in order. A Woofer Tester 2, or anything similar, would probably provide you with the information you need. However, if Qts is as high as you say it is, banana's statement regarding OB or IB are probably correct. On the other hand, I think I came across some older guy using a pair of these in separate TL's. I think they went up through his attic, if I remember correctly, with the drivers coming out of the walls in his living room.

I wanted to say Vas but written Qts...... that's a typo

I have a speakerworkshop jig that could measure Vas. But I use added mass method that might damage the cone. Knowing the exact Vas is not necessary, since it's going to be enormously large.

There's one more opinion, build the largest box u can have (say 300~500Ltr), and then add flow vent.

Are u crossing it actively? If so, Linkwitz transform will also do.

Contact for Hartley

howard99 said: