Putting the Science Back into Loudspeakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
graaf said:

let's discuss it :D
what is problematic and what can be done and how

what do You mean?

yeah, "financial issues"... "development of loudspeakers"... "making the product"... "tough decisions"... for an "industry guy" ;)
yeah, "consumers" ;)

BUT are we here "industry guys"? or "consumers"?

NO - we are DIY hobbyist! :D

trade-offs? compromises? I say - **** compromises! :D

I am not a promoter of ambiophonics, I mentioned it purely incidentally

best regards!
graaf
Well, if a hobbiest is going to spend time and money on analysis software like COMSOL, measurement system like Klippel, lots of time making things not to mention manufacturing skill and machinery, there really is not much to talk about. So many people like Ted Jordan spent their lifetime working full time on audio things. Putting technology into audio requires that dedication and money whether you are hobbiest or not.

soongsc said:

Well, if a hobbiest is going to spend time and money on analysis software like COMSOL, measurement system like Klippel, lots of time making things not to mention manufacturing skill and machinery, there really is not much to talk about. So many people like Ted Jordan spent their lifetime working full time on audio things. Putting technology into audio requires that dedication and money whether you are hobbiest or not.

putting SCIENCE into audio requires not so much a lot of money
but rather freedom from commercial and DFM ("design for manufacturability") considerations
as DIY hobbyist we have such a freedom :D

putting SCIENCE into audio is about basic design choices!
not about sophisticated fine tuning with "analysis software like COMSOL, measurement system like Klippel"

being free from commercial and DFM ("design for manufacturability") considerations we can make those choices