Glass Brick Enclosures - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st May 2007, 09:16 AM   #1
blupro is offline blupro  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Glass Brick Enclosures

Heya,

I'm new to the world of DIY, and have been wondering about building a set of speakers using cinder block shaped glass bricks as enclosures. The bricks are tinted - dark enough that I could put stuffing/wirings/crossovers in and they wouldnt be seen, but I have never heard of anyone using a glass block as an enclosure...

Is there any reason I shouldn't try this? I'm new to DIY but dont want to put together something that sounds horrible.

I've done a bit of reading on this, and it seems low frequencies would be better for glass enclosures, but I'm hoping I can get some decent high frequency sound as well. If anyone has any experience or ideas on something like this, I'd be keen to hear your thoughts.

Hope everyone's having fun...
Blu
Old 31st May 2007, 09:43 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Not glass-blocks but glass boxes nonetheless:

http://www.waterfallaudio.com/indexhtm.html

Regards

Charles
Old 31st May 2007, 09:44 AM   #3
Did it Himself
diyAudio Member

Seems a nice idea. How are the bricks bonded together?
Old 31st May 2007, 07:06 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Charles - Thanks for the link. I'd seen those, so it gives me hope that glass isnt a no-no.

Richie - they're shaped like this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cinder_block. I was thinking a woofer in one opening, and a tweeter in the other.....or two woofers in the holes and a tweeter up top.
Old 31st May 2007, 07:44 PM   #5
Did it Himself
diyAudio Member

Link no good.
Old 31st May 2007, 08:25 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Glass Brick Enclosures

Quote:
Originally posted by blupro