Glass Brick Enclosures

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Heya,

I'm new to the world of DIY, and have been wondering about building a set of speakers using cinder block shaped glass bricks as enclosures. The bricks are tinted - dark enough that I could put stuffing/wirings/crossovers in and they wouldnt be seen, but I have never heard of anyone using a glass block as an enclosure...

Is there any reason I shouldn't try this? I'm new to DIY but dont want to put together something that sounds horrible.

I've done a bit of reading on this, and it seems low frequencies would be better for glass enclosures, but I'm hoping I can get some decent high frequency sound as well. If anyone has any experience or ideas on something like this, I'd be keen to hear your thoughts.

Hope everyone's having fun...
Blu

blupro said:
Is there any reason I shouldn't try this?

None that I know of but since glass blocks will have a different acoustic signature than say MDF, damping and crossover design will have to be adjusted accordingly. What I'm saying is that you probably wouldn't get optimal results by simply using a crossover designed for the same drivers in an identical box made of a different material.

blupro,

I would think that a reasonably thick walled glass block would have far fewer vibration issues than an MDF panel, so that would be a positive.

You can of course break glass with sound (http://www.physics.ucla.edu/demoweb...fects_of_sound/breaking_glass_with_sound.html) but I don't think that'd be an issue for a brick (unless you're planning on going really loud).

What would you use for the front and rear panels?

richie00boy said:
Link no good.

Remove the full stop from the end of the URL (the 'auto URL' code that turns http... into a link often swallows up the full stop at the end of a sentence, and leads to dead links. Affects many forums).