Studio Monitors (nearfield) - around the NeoPro5i

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm no speaker builder, but I've been interested in the field for some time. I've built from other people's designs.
I'm a new sound engineer and I wish to have new nearfield monitors.
I've heard the lower ADAM (ANF-10, A7), Dynaudio BM5, PMC (DB1+,TB2+), which are the more regarded nearfiled monitors in my price range.

I felt that the ADAMs had the best transient reponse. They have a ribbon tweeter (some custom Eton, as far as I know, not available to us) and are crossed at about 1,8k. nice. A bit colored but they were the most alive and revealed the shape and texture of the soundstage best. I believe that this kind of what we call "revealing" is at least important as the details themselves - this I believe what maxes a mix that sound correct on this kind of speaker translate well on others.

The Dynaudios were more analytical, natural, yet not as dynamic and brutal in the way the translate the music I know. Very nice to listen to, but didn't have depth in the midrange.

The PMC sounds the best as a fun speaker, but they didn't differ different recordings very well, the soundstage tends to be made of their sonic signature everytime, to a certain degree. However, I was impressed by the bass of these things, as it was clearly tighter then the ADAMs, and I demonstrated these when set far away from the walls. They are line transmission design, and the port is on the back. I wonder how they will function when they are close to a rear wall.
Look at the design:
http://www.pmcloudspeaker.com/transmission.html