Beyond the Ariel - Page 834 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st October 2012, 05:19 PM   #8331
EarlK is offline EarlK  Canada
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by GM
WRT distortion testing, I've no experience or even considered it since I don't recall seeing anything published by Altec in either cut sheets or in tech bulletins beyond recommending that in any type of high power app the speaker's components be limited to a decade, implying that in any consumer app short of a frat party it was a non-issue, so wondering what the distortion looks like when the driver is BW limited 2nd order to 500-5k, etc..
- Looks to me like 1K to 10K is a more realistic BW ( for distortion products, when aligning diaphragms ) .

Click the image to open in full size.

- ( Obviously from above ) Altec did publish a few distortion specs ( for their later drivers bolted onto their horns ) / granted, specs are few & far between .

- I suppose I might moderate the goal ( of a 15db spread between H2 & H3 ) down to 12db ( to match Altecs own stats ) / but heck / all these newer horns/waveguides ( sans diffraction slot ) are widely touted for their lower distortion , so why not shoot for a 15db spread to see if it's achievable ?

<> EarlK
Old 1st November 2012, 03:22 AM   #8332
Pano is offline Pano  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by GM View Post
I didn't 'hone' the response per se, I align honed the driver, steel shim and horn entrance with a three stone brake master cylinder hone attached to an electric drill to make the transitions as seamless/smooth as practical.
LOL! OK, you really did hone them. Make sense, I just didn't take you literally. Porting and polishing the horns, eh? Real audio hot-rodding is cool.