Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th October 2012, 04:58 AM   #8241
diyAudio Member

Leaky perhaps. Or Lossy. Or just make it big enough. Small is for other stuff.
Old 19th October 2012, 06:41 AM   #8242
diyAudio Member

Thanks.

Now I see Lynn recently discussing resistive vents in post 7846. I saw mention of this earlier in the discussion, but at that time there was an additional LF section in the mix.
Old 19th October 2012, 07:05 AM   #8243
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

Not IME with any of the original 416 series, though in retrospect wouldn't necessarily include GPA or others re-cones. Ditto GPA's 416-8C, which I've no experience with, though based on published specs it might need to be gapped a little from the baffle [mostly sealed] if driven with a matching impedance, but does anybody do this in a high SQ app these days?

For a truly aperiodic alignment, all would require huge cabs to hold enough stuffing.

GM

Last edited by GM; 19th October 2012 at 07:07 AM.
Old 19th October 2012, 05:33 PM   #8244
badman is offline badman  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by phivates View Post
Or just make it big enough. Small is for other stuff.
Good advice for speakers in general.
Old 19th October 2012, 06:57 PM   #8245
ScottG is offline ScottG  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by GM View Post
Not IME with any of the original 416 series, though in retrospect wouldn't necessarily include GPA or others re-cones. Ditto GPA's 416-8C, which I've no experience with, though based on published specs it might need to be gapped a little from the baffle [mostly sealed] if driven with a matching impedance, but does anybody do this in a high SQ app these days?