minDSP 4x10Hd questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear Members,

My eyes stopped on the minDSP 4x10Hd (in a case). I am considering the option to get a miniDSP device in the chain form my new project. However I have several doubts. With this first message I'll try to ask basic things then if responses are positive to me I'll keep asking something more.

I went to a lot of post and I figured out that most problems are with gain-chain (I read the diyaudio article)... as I suspected. Forgive some of my ignorance, and please forgive me if I've overlooked some information already posted. I am not an electronic engineer... please help me understading.

My chain ideal chain is as follows:

Analog playing: Phono → Phono Preamp with volume control → miniDSP analog input → amps and speakers

OR

Digital Playing: PC → usb soundcard SPDIF output → miniDSP digital input → amps and speakers

The amps are solid state (simple designs) with 1V input sensitivity and 33KOhm input impedance, rated at 120W/4Ohms, about 120dB of SNR

The speakers is a 3 ways design with about 95dB 1W/1m

Question 1: Does the miniDSP device allows to switch between analog/digital inputs? This is important because I usually listen 50% vinyls and 50% digital sources.

Question 2: how the miniDSP handles digital operations? Are them integer or floating point?

Question 3: how the miniDSP handles volume control? Did I understood well that a rotary knob can be added to control the output master volume digitally?

Question 4: which kind of ADC and DAC chip are used? Are them integrated into the DSP chip or rather are stand alone chips, if yes which?

Question 5: what about clock? I understood that the chip will resample to 24bit/96KHz, before DSP operatins. Is this clocked to a local quartz or what?

Sorry for the number of questions. I hope somebody ccan explain.

Best Wsihes
Pierre

Joined 2010
Paid Member