Omnidirectional Alpair? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Manufacturers > Markaudio

Markaudio Designers and builders of audiophile grade drivers

Old 22nd May 2014, 08:19 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Omnidirectional Alpair?

Hi all!

I've just got a quick question regarding box design for the A10P or A12P.

I've currently got a pair of Duevel Planets (Planets Entry Speaker) which are two way omnidirectional speakers with a downward-firing bass port and spherical diffusers on top. They aren't the last word in quality I'm sure, but they are fun, look great and have a large sweet spot.

I'm currently putting together a couple of low watt tube amp kits and thought it would be fun to also make a higher efficiency, single driver version of the Planets.

I have no experience in speaker building, so I was wondering whether I should just take the Pencil design, readjust the dimensions to make a square (rather than rectangular) prism shape (but keeping the same internal diameter), move the driver cut-out to the top and move the vent to the bottom, and then add feet and a DIY diffuser at the top?

I also expect that with the radial diffusion, it's likely the treble would be attenuated, so the A10P would likely be a better candidate than the A12P, despite the lower sensitivity.

Or should I commission a custom design from a notable member of this board, with the caveat that I understand that I would have to experiment with the diffuser part on my own.

Thanks for your time in reading this and your thoughts!

Taz.
Old 22nd May 2014, 08:28 AM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertaz View Post
move the driver cut-out to the top.
Taz,

Movin the driver from its specified Zd (offset) will degrade performance, and it won't be a Pensil any longer.

dave
Old 22nd May 2014, 09:57 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by planet10 View Post
Taz,