Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Manufacturers > Markaudio

Markaudio Designers and builders of audiophile grade drivers

Old 3rd May 2012, 03:31 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Alpair 1.5-way Speaker?

I am relatively new to speaker building. I built the microtower bipoles with Alpair 7's as my first project and I love them. I use them for music. With the Alpair 12 out of stock when I wanted to do some home theater speakers, I then built three pensil 10's for my home theater.

I feel like the Alpair 10's have been nice for dialog clarity but maybe lack a little oomph in the low end, particularly since the room they are in is pretty large. I fear that at loud volumes I am pushing the x-max and maybe getting some distortion. My solution for now is to raise the crossover to the subwoofers.

I was wondering about the possibility of building a transmission line type design but with 2 matching drivers, say Alpair 10's. They would cross over relatively low such that only one would be firing for treble and midrange, eliminating any cancellation effects at higher frequencies. Down low they would share the load, effectively doubling the driver area and as a bonus providing baffle step compensation.

I know this would be less efficient and the crossover in some sense defeats part of the purpose of full-range drivers, but I feel this is minimal since it is crossing over between identical drivers. Also, my home theater amp is sufficiently massive as to make the question of efficiency largely irrelevant, I think.

Any comments? I have tried to find a thread like this and failed. Is this a reasonable idea or is there something I am missing.
Old 3rd May 2012, 03:36 AM   #2
diyAudio Member