Tasmanian Hard Woods - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Manufacturers > Markaudio

Markaudio Designers and builders of audiophile grade drivers

Old 26th December 2010, 06:37 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Tasmanian Hard Woods

Hi Guys,
While down-under in Tasmania, I took a look at the local woods on offer for potential DIY projects. Tasmania is famous for its woods. The island is a large high-quality timber producer. From memory, around 30% of its land area is devoted to timber. The Tasmanian timber industry is highly regulated. Timber is graded and kiln dry cured while forest resources are managed for sustainability (I wish Asian timber producers could be regulated the same way).

I briefly met several timber and furniture guys but one in particular when out of his way to help. Dennis, the head cabinet maker at the Southern Design Centre in Geevston spent time with me covering the main points on readily available local hardwoods (see pics).

I'm not an expert on woods so I'll give you a brief visual description and do my best to pass on Dennis's suggestions. Please note the pics show wood samples in their raw un-finished state.

Tasmanian Oak
Technically not an "Oak" (its from the Eucalyptus family) but it certainly feels like Oak. The feel and texture resembles a classic light oak. Popular uses include furniture, flooring and panels. From the sample I have, it feels very solid and strong, quite dense. I understand from Dennis, this wood machines and polishes well.

Black-Heart Sasafras
Possible my favourite of the bunch. There's a wonderful 2 tone structure to this wood. There's wonderful light and dark layers that could be made as "mirror" pair front baffles giving a dramatic striking look. However, Sasafras maybe better suited to smaller box designs as is can twist and warp compared to the other hardwoods. This wood finishes well so looks superb as furniture.

Blackwood